Thursday, January 14, 2010

Grains allowed and not allowed on Gluten Free Diet (beginners list, not exhaustive)

Grains ALLOWED:

Corn (maize)
Rice
Soy
Potato
Tapioca
Bean
Garfava
Sorghum
Quinoa
Millet
Buckwheat
Arrowroot
Amaranth
Teff
Montina
Flax
Nut flours
Garbanzo (chickpea)
Black Lentil flour


Grains NOT ALLOWED:

Wheat
Einkorn
Durum
Faro
Graham
Kamut
Semolina
Spelt
Rye
Barley
Triticale

*There are lots of foods and products that may contain gluten.  Label reading is one of the things that whether you are a beginner or seasoned individual dealing with allergies, you should always read your labels. Manufacturers can change ingredients at any time.   I can't tell you how many times I have bought my tried and true product and they have 'improved' their product and now contains an ingredient that we can't have.  Ugh! 

*The rule you will hear over and over is, if in doubt go without  -----do not buy or consume it. 

* I have read that distilled products do not contain harmful gluten peptides. The gluten-peptide is too large to carry over into the distillation process. So distilled alcohols and vinegars are gluten free.

No comments:

Post a Comment